German Center for Infection Research

Together Against Infections

The Corona pandemic clearly demonstrated the importance of infection research. The emergence and pandemic spread of as yet unknown viruses, such as SARS-CoV-2 most recently, is by no means new. Since founding of the German Center for Infection Research (DZIF) in 2012, its scientists have devoted a special focus on this problem with the research area "Emerging Infectious Diseases".

Decisive action is also needed to address other problems in infection research: Chronic infections, more and more immunocompromised patients in an increasingly older society and the global increase in antibiotic resistance along with emerging viruses are among the major infectiological challenges of our time. The activities of the DZIF in the field of infectious disease research are strategically aligned to meet these challenges.

To this end, the DZIF brings together the expertise of more than 500 researchers from 35 member institutions and from a wide variety of fields, including medicine, biology, epidemiology, chemistry and bioinformatics.

More information on the DZIF's mission: https://www.dzif.de/en/portrait

DZIF Head Office
Inhoffenstraße 7
38124 Braunschweig

Phone: +49 531 6181-1152
https://dzif.de

Press Contact
Dr. Nicola Wittekindt
Phone: +49 531 6181-1170
Email: presse@dzif.de

Contact Persons
Overview on the DZIF Website
Find all DZIF locations

Executive Board

Prof. Dirk Busch
Technische Universität München – Vorstandsvorsitzender
Prof. Hans-Georg Kräusslich
Heidelberg University Hospital – Vice Chair
Prof. Maura Dandri
Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf
Prof. Andreas Peschel
University of Tübingen
Prof. Dirk Heinz
Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research

Managing Director

Dr. Timo Jäger

Follow the DZIF

Deutsches Zentrum für Infektionsforschung

Gemeinsam gegen Infektionen

Die Corona-Pandemie hat klar gezeigt, welche Bedeutung der Infektionsforschung zukommt. Dass noch unbekannte Viren wie zuletzt SARS-CoV-2 auftreten und sich pandemisch ausbreiten, ist keineswegs neu. Die Wissenschaftler:innen im Deutschen Zentrum für Infektionsforschung (DZIF) widmen diesem Problem bereits seit Gründung im Jahr 2012 mit dem Forschungsbereich „Neu auftretende Infektionskrankheiten“ einen eigenen Schwerpunkt.

Entschiedenes Handeln ist aber auch bei anderen Problemen in der Infektionsforschung gefragt: Chronische Infektionen, immer mehr immungeschwächte Patient:innen in einer zunehmend älteren Gesellschaft und die globale Zunahme der Antibiotikaresistenzen zählen neben den neu auftretenden Viren zu den großen infektiologischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Die Aktivitäten des DZIF im Bereich der Infektionsforschung sind strategisch auf die Bewältigung dieser Herausforderungen ausgerichtet.

Dazu führt das DZIF die Expertise von über 500 Forschenden aus 35 Mitgliedseinrichtungen und aus den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen – u. a. Medizin, Biologie, Epidemiologie, Chemie und Bioinformatik – zusammen.

Mehr Informationen zur Mission des DZIF: https://www.dzif.de/de/portraet

DZIF-Geschäftsstelle
Inhoffenstraße 7
38124 Braunschweig

Telefon: 0531 6181-1152
https://dzif.de

Pressekontakt
Dr. Nicola Wittekindt
Telefon: 0531 6181-1170
E-Mail: presse@dzif.de

Ansprechpartner:innen
Übersicht auf DZIF-Webseite
Alle DZIF-Orte finden

Vorstand

Prof. Dr. Dirk Busch
Technische Universität München – Vorstandsvorsitzender
Prof. Dr. Hans-Georg Kräusslich
Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg – stellvertretender Vorstandsvorsitzender
Prof. Dr. Maura Dandri
Universitätsklinikum Hamburg-Eppendorf
Prof. Dr. Andreas Peschel
Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen
Prof. Dr. Dirk Heinz
Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung, Braunschweig

Geschäftsführung

Dr. Timo Jäger

Folgen Sie dem DZIF